top of page
Search
  • ajf175

Blog #1- Genres aren't so boring after all...

Updated: Jan 10, 2018

Chapter 1 of The Bedford Books of Genres introduces a non-traditional perspective on genres. It gives a simplistic definition of genres, but it exposes the complexity and flexibility regarding them when it states that genres can overlap, which I deemed interesting. Before college, believe it or not, I was never taught that a text could be categorized as more than one genre, or I should say, I was somewhat forced to categorize it as one. In middle school, on a literature test, when the general question, “Which of the following would you describe the composition as” appeared, the answer choices, were “A. Narrative,” “B. Persuasive,” and “C. Informative,” with an answer choice like “A & B” rarely appearing, if it ever did at all.


So, it was refreshing to know that genres can indeed overlap and that they often time do.


This particular chapter of The Bedford Books of Genres also addressed the importance of the audience, and the purpose, along with the role they play in an author choosing which form of genre(s) they want to utilize. Honestly, I never wondered why an author might select writing a poem over a narrative, or vice versa; now I understand it is reasoning behind this selection. They make this selection based off which genre can get their point across the best to their intended audience. I know it seems like a simple concept, but it’s a concept I once overlooked.


Chapter 1 also elaborated on the concepts---- mode and media; therefore, I now can recognize the differentiation as well as the connection between the two in regards to narrative genres. The mode is how one experiences the composition, while the medium is the how the composition is delivered.


Lastly, Chapter 1 described the key terms and ideas: rhetoric, rhetorical appeals, style, design, and sources, all of which I am familiar with.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page